Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

Davao de Oro Gov Uy Grateful to Gov Tamayo

Koronadal City, South Cotabato – Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy of the Province of Davao de Oro expressed his utmost gratitude to South Cotabato Governor Reynaldo S. Tamayo, Jr for his generosity in sharing the COVID-19 Contact Tracing System (CCTS) for free.

In a letter dated November 23, 2020, Governor Uy said that the system will help Davao de Oro’s local government units (LGUs) in tracing the whereabouts of COVID-19 confirmed patients.

He also said that the CCTS is “the easiest and the most convenient” that they have tested, and it comes unsurprising that many LGUs and other institutions had applauded the same.

“As a matter of information, we will be rolling out the system in the entire Davao de Oro. This week, we will conduct a pilot implementation in the Provincial Capitol, among our staff and employees,” Governor Uy stated.

“Like you, I also believe that the role of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) is making the lives of our people better. In the past months, we’ve launched many ICT innovations. In the spirit of common bond, we are also willing to share our experience in developing these systems to the people of South Cotabato. Again, we are thankful. I am hoping to meeting you in person,” he added.

As of this writing, the CCTS is already being adopted by six (6) provinces and fourteen (14) cities/municipalities all over the Philippines.

Davao de Oro, officially the Province of Davao de Oro, is a province in the Philippines located in the Davao Region in Mindanao. It is composed of eleven (11) municipalities and 237 barangays, with Nabunturan as its capital. It used to be part of the province of Davao del Norte until it was made a separate province in 1998.

The province was formerly known as Compostela Valley from its inception until December 2019, when a plebiscite ratified the law that proposed to rename the province to Davao de Oro.

A Senate bill officially renaming Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro was passed in 2019. Provincial officials led by Governor Jayvee Tyron Uy saw this as an opportunity to clear up confusion with its geographic location, with the province’s name sometimes associated with Cagayan Valley and the town of Compostela in Cebu, and associate it further with fellow provinces in the Davao Region. They saw this also as an opportunity to market the province better for further investments. The plebiscite was held on December 7, 2019 with majority of participants voting in favor of the name change.

Photo credits: Province of Davao de Oro / google images

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like