Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

DENR-EMB 12 commends South Cotabato LGUs

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources – Environment Management Bureau (DENR-EMB) 12 headed by Officer-in-Charge Maria Socorro Lanto commended the provincial government and its 11 component local government units (LGUs) after the successful presentation and defense of their respective 10-Year Solid Waste Management (SWM) Plan at the National Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC) office in Quezon City last October 8.

Awarding of the plaques of appreciation was conducted during the celebration of the South Cotabato Ecology Day on November 18 at the South Cotabato Gymnasium and Cultural Center with the attendance of some Municipal Mayors and their respective representatives.

Bai Soraya Meditar and Engr. Philip Biboso of DENR-EMB 12 represented OIC-RD Lanto during the awarding ceremony.

The 11 LGUs prepared well for the presentation with the conduct of two Writeshop and Coaching session held at General Santos and Lake Sebu.

Before the final presentation on October 8, the 11 LGUs likewise conducted a final presentation at the Polomolok Municipal Environment and Natural Resources Office.

According to NSWMC, this is first time that their office has approved “wholesale” the 10-year SWM Plan of a provincial LGU and their component LGUs.

Senior Environment Management Specialist Elbe Balucanag of the Provincial Environment Management Office and who was part of the entourage disclosed that the approved 10-Year Plan will serve as the “Bible” of the GUs in solid waste management.

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like