Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

Marbel 1, Colongulo – 2017 Search for Model School in SWM champions

Marbel 1 Central Elementary School of Koronadal City and Colongulo National High School of Surallah bested other schools in their respective category as they emerged as champions in the 2017 Search for Model Schools in Solid Waste Management, an annual contest of the Provincial Environment Management Office (PEMO).

It was a sweet victory for Marbel 1 CES as they also garnered 5 Special Awards as Best in IEC, Best in Documentation, Best in Recycling, Best in Composting and Best YES-O Implementer. The school received P60,000 as over-all winner and another P30,000 for the 5 special awards with P6,000 each as cash incentive.

Meanwhile Colongulo National High School, which was last year’s champion, also received P60,000 as over-all winner and P12,000 Special Award cash incentives as Best in Community Participation and Best in Organic Garden.

Other winners in the elementary category were as follow: 2nd Place – Lugan CES (T’boli) – P40,000; 3rd Place – Polomolok CES (Polomolok) – P30,000; 4th Place – Talahik ES (Surallah) – P15,000; 5th Place – New Iloilo ES (Tantangan) – P10,000; Consolation Prize (P6,000 each) – Belaza Castromayor Community Elementary School (Tupi), Tampakan Central Elementary School (Tampakan), Guinsang-an Elementary School (Sto. Nino), Banga Central Elementary School (Banga). Talahik ES won as Best in Organic Garden and Polomolok CES as Best in Community Participationther in the special awards with P6,000 each cash incentive in the elementary category.

In the high school category, the other winners were Sto. Nino NHS, Sto. Nino (2nd Place – P40,000), Poblacion Polomolok NHS, Pol;omolok (3rd Place – P30,000), Marbel 7 NHS, Koronadal City (4th Place – P15,000); Cebuano NHS, Tupi (5th Place – P10,000); Consolation Prize (P6,000 each) – Norala NHS, Norala; Dumadalig IS, Tantangan; Lake Sebu NHS, Lake Sebu; Banga NHS, Banga; New Dumangas NHS, T’boli; Liberty NHS, Tampakan.

The winners in the special awards (high school category) were Dumadalig IS (Best in IEC), Sto. Nino NHS (Best in Documentation), Cebuano NHS (Best in Recycling), Poblacion Polomolok NHS (Best in Composting), Marbel 7 NHS (Best YES-O Implementer).

The awarding of winners was held on November 22 at the KCC Activity Center, Koronadal City.

The contest evaluators were Jobie de Jesus (PEMO), Fruto Sumagaysay Jr. (PIO), Hayd-Ali Suwaib (DILG), Marlyn Dagum (DepED Provincial Division), Dr. Nida Pastor (DepED City Division), Bai Soraya Meditar (DENR 12) and Gemma Guyos (South Cotabato Foundation, Inc.).

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like