Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

Search for Model School in Solid Waste Management … Evaluators consolidate initial, final results

Evaluators of the 2016 Search for Model School in Solid Waste Management, an annual contest sponsored by the Provincial Environment Management Office (PEMO) that gives recognition and incentives to schools that excel in proper solid waste management; have consolidated the initial and final results conducted from July to October this year.

Based on the collective decision of the team of evaluators, they have chosen the top 5 major, consolation and special award winners in the elementary and high school categories.

Cash incentives are as follows; First Prize – P50,000, Second Prize – P30,000, Third Prize – P20,000, Fourth Prize – P10,000, Fifth Prize – P8,000 and P5,000 each as consolation prize.

Special awards of the contest which are Best in IEC, Best in Documentation, Best in Recycling, Best in Organic Garden, Best in Composting, Best in Community Participation and Best YES-O will receive P5,000 each. The Best in Documentation have additional Second Prize and Third Prize winners which will receive P3,000 and P2,000, respectively.

Criteria of the contest are System and Process – 60%; Organization and Support System – 30%, Cleanliness and Beautification – 5% and School’s Participation towards Community SWM Program – 5%.

Participating schools are Upper Klinan Elementary School and Poblacion Polomolok National High School (Polomolok); Banga Central Elementary School (Banga); Lugan Central Elementary School and New Dumangas National High School (T’boli); Belaza Castromayor Elementary School and Kablon National High School (Tupi); San Isidro Elementary School and Guinsang-an National High School (Sto. Nino); Sta. Cruz Elementary School (Tampakan); Namnama Elementary School and Marbel 7 National High School (Koronadal City); New Iloilo Elementary School and Tantangan National Trade High School (Tantangan).

The evaluators are Jobie de Jesus and Reynaldo Fabrigar (Provincial Environment Management Office), Fruto Sumagaysay Jr. (Provincial Information Office), Dr. Nida Pastor (DepED City Division), Dr. Marilyn Evangelista and Marlyn Dagum (DepED Provincial Division), Hayd-Ali Suwaib (DILG Provincial Office) and Gemma Guyos (South Cotabato Foundation Inc.).

Awarding will be on November 25 which also coincided with the 5th South Cotabato Recyclable Waste Fair, where a Recy-Creativity and Recycla-Cosplay contest is open to elementary pupils and Recy-Composition contest for high school students.

November is celebrated as Environmental Awareness Month, Clean Air Month and Climate Change Consciousness Week (November 19 -25).

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like