Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

Search for Model Schools in SWM now on its final run

The Search for Model Schools in Solid Waste Management is now on its final stage as the final evaluation will start on October 3 to 17 among 20 elementary and high schools province-wide.

A program conducted annually by the Provincial Environment Management Office (PEMO), the participating schools will be evaluated based on the following criteria: System and Process (60%), Organization and Support System (30%), Community Participation (5%) and Cleanliness and Beautification (5%).

The final evaluation and initial evaluation has a weighted average of 60% and 40%, respectively.

During the initial evaluation, the participating schools Solid Waste Management Action Plan comprising of Activities, Budget, Time Frame, Expected Output and Responsible Person were evaluated by the team of evaluators.

Meanwhile, a Scrapbook or Documentation will be required and evaluated in the final evaluation.

Participating schools include Colongulo National High School and Talahik Elementary School in Surallah; Marbel 7 National High School and Marbel 1 Central Elementary School in the City of Koronadal; Sto. Nino National High School and Guinsang-an Elementary School in Sto. Nino; New Dumangas National High School and Lugan Central Elementary School in T’boli; Poblacion Polomolok National High School and Polomolok Central Elementary School in Polomolok; Banga National High School and Banga Central Elementary school in Banga; Dumadalig Integrated School and New Iloilo Elementary School in Tantangan; Liberty National High School and Tampakan Central Elementary School in Tampakan, Cebuano National High School and Belaza Castromayor Community Elementary School in Tupi; and Lake Sebu National High School and Norala National High School.

Prizes at stake are as follows: 1st Place – P50,000; 2nd Place – P30,000; 3rd Place – P20,000; 4th Place – P10,000; 5th Place – P8,000. A consolation prize of P5,000 will be given to non-winners who meet the basic minimum requirements.

Special Awards of P5,000 each will also be given to schools who are Best in IEC, Best in Documentation, Best in Recycling, Best in Organic Garden, Best in Composting, Best in Community Participation and Best YES-O Implementer.

Awarding of winners will be on November this year which coincided with the celebrations of Environmental Awareness Month, Clean Air Month and Climate Change Consciousness Week.

The evaluators are Jobie de Jesus of PEMO, Bai Soraya Meditar of DENR 12, Dr. Nida Pastor of DepED City Schools Division, Marlyn Dagum of DepED Provincial Schools Division, Fruto Sumagaysay Jr. of PIO, Hayd-Ali Suwaib of DILG Provincial Office, Gemma Guyos of South Cotabato Foundation Inc.

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like