Official Website

Province of South Cotabato

Search for SWM Model School now on its final leg

Evaluators of the Search for Model School in Solid Waste Management have started the final evaluation of this annual contest sponsored by the Provincial Environment Management Office (PEMO).

Five (5) out of 18 participating schools, namely: New Dumangas National High School, Lugan Central Elementary School, Banga Central Elementary School, (T’boli), Upper Klinan Elementary School and Poblacion National High School (Polomolok) were evaluated on the last week of September. The window period of the final evaluation runs until the first week of October.

Judging was based on the following criteria: System and Process – 60%; Organization and Support System – 30%; Cleanliness and Beautification – 5%; Community Participation – 5%.

The initial and final evaluations have 40 and 60 percentage points, respectively.

This year’s prizes for both the elementary and high school categories are as follows; First Prize – P50,000.00,Second Prize – P30,000.00, Third Prize – P20,000.00, Fourth Prize – P10,000.00, Fifth Prize – P8,000.00 and consolation Prize of P5,000.00 for non-winners for each category.

Special Prizes of P5,000.00 each per category will be likewise awarded to Best in Documentation, Best in IEC, Best in Recycling, Best in Composting, Best in Organic Garden and Best in Community Participation.

The remaining schools for evaluation on the first week of October are Sta. Cruz Elementary School in Tampakan, Puti Elementary School and Sergio Legayada National High School in Norala, Talahik Elementary School and Colonggulo National High School in Surallah, Belasa Catromayor Elementary School and Kablon National High School in Tupi, San Isidro Elementary School and Guinsang-an National High School in Sto. Nino, New Iloilo Elementary School and Tantangan Trade National High School in Tantangan and Namnama Elementary School and Marbel 7 National High School in Koronadal City.

Evaluators are Jobie de Jesus and Reynaldo Fabrigar of PEMO. Dr. Nida Pastor of DepED City School Division, Dr. Marilyn Evangelista and Marilyn Dagum of DepED Provincial School Division, Hayd-Ali Suwaib of DILG Provincial Office and Fruto Sumagaysay Jr of PIO.

The contest aims to give due recognition and likewise serve as a reward and incentive to schools that implement “best practices” in solid waste management.

Follow South Cotabato

Governor Press Release

Recent News

Latest from Facebook

You may also like